Marlies Bugmann


Tazzie Devil Double Trouble: Book 3 of the Green Heart Series
Marlies Bugmann
Zumaya Publications (2004)
ISBN 1554100259
Reviewed by Becca Lawler, age 9, for Reader Views (1/07)
“Tazzie Devil Double Trouble” was a really good book. It took me a little more time to read but I am glad I did. My favorite part of the whole book is when the creep is taking the Tasmanian Devils to the big boat, and he makes Ben and Sam load the dinghy. That is when they find Tazzie. When they figure out a way to save all the devils and make the creep fall into the water because Tazzie bit him on the ankle that was so brave of Tazzie. Then I was scared that Tazzie was going to drown, but Ben saving him was so awesome. Then they took care of all those devils and Tazzie on their farm. Ben really loves Tazzie. I am glad that Tazzie got better.  Even though they are mean, Tasmanian Devils sure do look cute!


Email feedback for
Swiss Tradition in Black and White
From: Laurie Farris
Date: Tue, 9 Jan 2007 14:49:04 -0600
I just finished reading your book on berners and I wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed it.  I've been a friend of Margret Bartschi's for over 20 years and she told me about it a couple of weeks ago. 
I usually provide a packet of information to all my new puppy buyers and sometimes I think I put too much in it and I'm quite sure they just put it in a drawer somewhere and never look at it!!! If they have a problem they just call me!
I think I will buy some more of these books to have on hand for my puppy people because a lot of the information I provide them is already there and it will also give them a brief history of the breed and answer their questions for different health problems. I think they are more likely to absorb this material in a small book as opposed to all the sheets I put into a binder for them.
... ... ...
Thanks again for a wonderful book.
Sincerely,
Laurie Farris

Email feedback for
Swiss Tradition in Black and White
from Switzerland's foremost authority on the Bernese Mountain Dog breed: Betreff: -Buch: Swiss Tradition in Black and White Datum: -Fri, 27 Oct 2006 07:28:48 +0200
Es enthaelt vieles, was fuer englisch-sprachige Freunde der Rasse und fuer Zuechter wichtig ist. Ich bin z.B. persoenlich froh, dass die Rassengeschichte eimal korrekt dargestellt ist. Auch die Beschreibung einer Koerung ist wichtig. Prima ist auch, dass Sie den offiziellen Rassestandard der FCI in der autorisierten Uebersetzung widergegeben haben. Vielleicht hoeren die Laender, in denen BSH gezuechtet werden dann endlich auf, eigene Standards aufzustellen! ([The book] contains much that is of importance for the English speaking friend of the breed and breeders. I personally am pleased that the history of the breed has for once been correctly portrayed. The description of the Koerung is also very important. It is great that the official FCI breed standard in the authorised translation has been re-printed in your book. Perhaps countries where Bernese Mountain Dogs are bred might finally cease to design their own standards!)  Beeindruckend ist Ihre grosse Liebe zu der Rasse, die ueberall durch Ihre Texte scheint. Das wirkt ansteckend und weckt das Verantwortungsbewusstsein! (Your great love for the breed is impressive and it shines through all your texts [in the book]. This has a contagious effect and awakens the sense of responsibility!) 
***

Swiss Tradition in Black and White
by Marlies Bugmann
Zumaya, 2006 (2006)
Softcover
Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth
Nov 06
Do you own a Bernese Mountain Dog? Or hope to own one? Then Swiss Tradition in Black and White is a must read. Marlies Bugmann fell in love with these most gentle and loving dogs. Though born in Switzerland, she was introduced to the breed in Australia.
After showering love and affection, which was eagerly reciprocated, Marlies lost her own dog to a genetic condition. Deciding to find out what caused her beloved friend's early demise, she researched, only to find out that greedy breeders were mating animals who carried strains of genetic conditions that could cause premature death or crippling deformities. Bugmann never wanted her loss to happen again to herself or anyone else who has taken, or contemplates taking, one of these dogs into their family.
Swiss Tradition in Black and White is the result. It is a primer about the breed … its history, its genetic flaws, its care and training, medical conditions that could cause problems, and advice on finding an ethical breeder. It is obvious from this comprehensive guide that Bugmann loves these dogs and wants the best for them and their owners.
***

Swiss Tradition in Black and White
Marlies Bugmann
Zumaya Productions (2006)
ISBN 1554103045
Reviewed by Joanne Benham for Reader Views (10/06)
The Bernese Mountain Dog is a breed native to Bern, Switzerland. Although dogs of their type are believed to have been around for centuries, it wasn’t until 1902 that an effort was made to establish guidelines and breeding standards for these hard-working farm dogs. The Bernese Mountain Dog is beautifully marked, with a glossy black coat, white booties, a white blaze on the face, a white chest and a white-tipped tail, all highlighted with tan markings. These dogs were an all-purpose farm dog, used for herding, pulling a farm cart, protection and family pet. A funny by-product of the perception of these dogs as a farm dog was the preservation of their innate genetics and characteristics. Had they been seen as a popular dog, worthy of carrying a pedigree, they would probably have been subject to the whims of the fanciers and much of the original dog could have been lost. Today, the parent breed club in Switzerland closely regulates the breeding of the Bernese Mountain Dog. Their guidelines are so strict that even something so seemingly inconsequential as white stockings instead of white booties or excessive white on the face or neck will eliminate the dog from inclusion in the breeding program. The papers on the dog must say ‘barred from breeding’ and the dog sold at a greatly reduced price. All potential breeding stock must pass stringent health tests and no dog is allowed to be bred before the age of fifteen months as this is the minimum age to have them x-rayed for hip and elbow dysplasia. They must pass conformation, temperament and qualification exams before four judges before being admitted into the breeding program. These strict protocols have enabled the Swiss club to produce wonderfully healthy dogs with great temperaments that are envied around the world ‘Swiss Tradition in Black and White’ is educational as well as fun to read. Even if you are not an aficionado of the breed, you would still find the section on breeding protocols very interesting. If only some of the highly over-bred dogs here in the US would establish equally stringent guidelines, we might be able to save some of our wonderful dog breeds.
***

Oct 2006 - Swiss Tradition In Black And White ~ Book Review
In total, 126 pages of information await readers interested in the Bernese Mountain Dog, a canine originally from Switzerland. Swiss Tradition In Black and White is a non-fiction guide that is written for both pet owners and dog breeders alike. The author, Marlies Bugmann, did a good job in ensuring every aspect of the species is covered in her book.
Twenty-eight chapters in total, the book is broken into three sections for easy referral and are accompanied by several photographs of the author and her dogs.
Part 1 embarks with the humble beginnings of the Bernese Mountain Dog, as a farm and herd animal, and follows the breed’s eventual rise to Pedigreed Status. Mrs. Bugmann discusses the dog’s global recognition and how careless breeders cause unnecessary suffering and harm. The author also offers advice on how to support breeders that care about perpetuating a strong and healthy species for future generations.
Part 2 shows readers the right way to consider the dog that is right for you and what to do upon brining a puppy home. Information for owners to begin socializing the animal is discussed. Also, the author makes sure owners understand the immunization requirements. Basic advice on grooming, necessary exercise and training are also provided. I found the chapter on feeding quite interesting. The breed’s growing habits, along with potential health threats and hereditary disorders, are also discussed.
Part 3 delves much deeper into the official standards for breeding the dog. Finally, the book closes with Appendix sections that include a copy of official standards, offer a list of references used in the writing of the book and provide pages to record worming and inoculation schedules, training courses and personal notes.
Authors: Marlies Bugmann
Publisher: Zumaya Publications
ISBN: 1-55410-304-5
~ Book Reviewer: Lillian Brummet - Co-author of the book Trash Talk, a guide for anyone concerned about his or her impact on the environment ~ Author of Towards Understanding, a collection of poetry. 
***




May 2006, latest review for
Kangaroo Dog
Marlies Bugmann
Zumaya Publications (2002)
ISBN 18948699312002
Reviewed by Tammy Petty Conrad for Reader Views (5/06)
7101 Hwy 71 W #200
Austin, Texas 78735
512.288.8555
www.readerviews.com
What child doesn’t enjoy an adventure? Especially in a far away place with unusual animals. Ben is raised on his family’s farm in a remote area of Tasmania, introducing us to animals usually only seen in zoos. Wallabies and wombats inhabit the area as do Tasmanian devils. Almost seven, Ben eagerly wanders around his family’s farm with his cat Ziggy until he ends up in the rainforest way past the creek he is not supposed to cross. What he finds in the dark undergrowth amazes him. What kind of creature can it be? It is like no living animal he has ever seen, but reminds him of the stuffed animal his mother gave him before she died of cancer. Can it really be a kangaroo dog? [...] Ben lives with his dad and his grandparents on a farm that has been in the family for generations. Within this solid framework, the concept of betrayal is introduced as is unexpected love after tragedy. The author, Marlies Bugmann, a native of Switzerland, now lives in Tasmania and shares her fascination with native animals with her readers. Any child who loves animals and a bit of mystery will enjoy reading this book. It is a great opportunity for a geography lesson and would be fun to read prior to a zoo visit. The black and white sketches add to the appeal. [...]
*****

Golden Wings
A book should be entertaining and, for the Young Adult age group, it’s a plus if it’s also educational. Golden Wings fulfills both criteria. By the end of the book, the reader is well versed on several species of birds and their habitats as well as their plight in surviving man's ignorance.
Geoffrey and his mum live in Tasmania. His Uncle Thomas and Auntie Steffie run an animal sanctuary so Geoffrey has many opportunities to see creatures up close. While Geoffrey and his mum are visiting his aunt and uncle, a woman shows up with an injured bird. It appears that the bird has a broken wing but on further examination, it turns out the bird has been shot. This is very serious as the bird is a wedge-tailed eagle, an endangered species. The woman leaves quickly without leaving her name or any information. Geoffrey's aunt and uncle provide the emergency care for Goldie, as Geoffrey dubs her, before sending her to the Wildlife Service Hospital for further care.
… there is much information to be gleaned from this book concerning the eagles, falcons and other birds, and the local languages of New Zealand and Tasmania. I found it to be an interesting read.
Reviewed By MargeAnna Conrad
March 2006
*******

Bluegum Christmas A Miracle at Sassafras Creek
by Marlies Bugman
Book 2 in The Green Heart Series
Published by Zumaya Publications, 2002
ISBN: 1-894869-85-0
150 pages
Reviewer: Debra Spangaro, BEd student (4th year)
(Review date: Jul 2005)
This series is set in northeast Tasmania and is based around central character Ben who is almost eight years old. In this book, Ben continues his childhood on his family’s farm with his father, new step mother, grandparents and his new dog. His family shows respect for and places great value on the native flora and fauna that resides on and around their land. His grandmother cares for orphaned wildlife and this caring is in turn reflected in Ben.
Bens past and current circumstances are reviewed early in the book as is the other leading character Samantha, a slightly older neighbour whose family returns to their farm just before Christmas. Sam and Ben form a wonderful friendship and together they investigate the bush surrounding their respective farms and discover a nesting ground for Swift parrots.
The beautiful but endangered Swift parrot (Ben’s Christmas bird) becomes the main focus of the book. The families become involved in protecting the birds and their feeding and nesting ground, a stand of 30 year old bluegums on Sam’s farm.
The values concerning the protection of our unique Tasmanian wildlife are evident and are interwoven into the conversations between the characters of this book and the narrator’s interpretations. The problem solving done by the families is simple yet the message is effective and becomes more evident towards the end of the text. The book finishes on a positive note and open to Ben and Sam’s next adventure.
Many conservation issues come to the fore in this book. We are introduced to the concerns that threaten species such as the Swift parrot, but also to snippets of information regarding land care and the habitat, food, safety and care for animals such as wombats, wallabies, possums, birds and even Tasmanian snakes. The book offers colourful and appropriate descriptions of our unique Tasmanian bush and wildlife and the author encourages an appreciation of our environment along with a duty of care.
I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend this text as a novel for a middle primary class focusing on World Futures, creating sustainable futures, conservation or threatened species. Plenty of time needs to be allowed for discussion of words or concerns as there are many words which students under ten years may not have encountered before. The book would also be appropriate for strong transitional to independent readers to read individually.
*******

On-line review of Quoll Quandary
Author Marlies Bugmann’s talent as a writer and artist, combined with her love of animals, has led to the creation of The Green Heart series for young readers. In these books, the author showcases the unique wildlife of Tasmania, while providing readers with an interesting plot and plenty of adventure. The theme of a balanced ecosystem runs throughout the series, yet the concept is easily grasped by the younger audience, thanks to the quality writing and the author’s heartfelt love of the subject. Quoll Quandry is the fourth book in the series and is exceptional in every way, as it connects with readers on several levels.
Set in northeastern Tasmania, eight-year-old Ben Arthurson lives with his parents and grandparents on a farm called Evergreen. Their home is filled with love and laughter, while the wilderness surrounding them houses the unique fauna and flora of Tasmania. His family rescues wild animals, which they release after a period of rehabilitation. At the beginning of this book, they are preparing to release some quolls, which are marsupials indigenous to this area. However, a fox has been sighted which may spell danger to not only the quolls, but to many other animals.
There is a high level of interest here, since it’s this reviewer’s opinion that most children, at some point in their lives, have ‘rescued’ a wild animal themselves. To do this type of work on a regular basis, would be a dream come true for many young readers.
The author is extremely knowledgeable about the animals in both New Zealand and Australia, having lived in both places. She shares many fascinating facts about these creatures, incorporating them smoothly into the story line. Her use of descriptive adjectives paints a wonderful picture of the scenery in this part of the world.
Environmental issues are addressed, and readers are encouraged to become informed about protecting their habitats. The dependent relationship between the animals and the land is shown to young readers, causing them to think about these things. This reviewer hopes that a series such as this will inspire a new generation of people who will value the wonderful creations that are on every part of our planet.
The story line includes a nice bit of action and adventure, as well as some heartwarming scenes between friends and family.
Quoll Quandry is unique and unquestionably outstanding!
Reviewed by Joyce
November 2004
Love Romances, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved
*******

On-line review of Kangaroo Dog
This first book in the Green Heart adventure series has a plot that will capture the imagination of young readers!
Seven-year-old Ben Arthurson lives on his family’s farm in northeastern Tasmania. The farm is named Evergreen, and it’s home to many animals. Besides the dairy cows and sheep, Ben’s family also rescues injured animals. After a period of recovery and rehabilitation, they release them back into the wild.
Ben is an adventuresome boy, and loves to explore the forested area around the farm. On one such outing, he comes face to face with an animal that is thought to be extinct! It’s a thylacine, also known as a Tasmanian tiger. The last of its kind supposedly died in a zoo back in 1936, but the animal Ben meets is definitely alive and well. His Aunt Steffie takes photographs, but her overly ambitious fianc’ tries to use the photos for his own gain, at the complete disregard for the animal’s safety as well as the privacy of Ben’s family. Will the thylacine survive being rediscovered?
The author is in tune with this age group, as she has provided them with a plot that combines young readers’ interest in animals, with the excitement of a scientific discovery. Coming face to face with an animal thought to be extinct is fodder for anyone’s imagination! The subsequent story line, where Ben and his aunt have to protect and defend this discovery, helps readers think through the issue of preserving and protecting animals and their habitats.
The book is rich in the descriptions of the wildlife native to Tasmania, and is a tribute to the author’s knowledge and research in this area. Readers will learn about the vocalizations, tracks, and mannerisms of many animals, some of which only exist in this particular part of the world. The thylacine and its history are smoothly integrated into the story, making it memorable as well as fascinating.
A sub-plot in this book is the family life of Ben. His mother had died of cancer and his heart still aches with this loss. The author cleverly connects the idea of the extinct status of the thylacine with the absence of his mother. There is a subtle, yet hopeful, belief that although someone is no longer visibly around, they still have a presence. Years ago, Ben’s mother had given him a stuffed thylacine, which he named Kangaroo Dog. This link from his past, combined with the history of this unique animal, hints at a spiritual bond with the world and all it contains.
Kangaroo Dog is an extraordinary story about the timeless power of life and love.
Reviewed by Joyce
November 2004
Love Romances, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved
*******

Excerpts of the reviews from Exeter High School
and Latrobe Primary School in Tasmania, after books from
The Green Heart Series was read to the students. (Nov 04)
Kangaroo Dog
Reviewer: Jane Dadson, Exeter High School
...The scene where [Ben's] aunt watches as the mother thylacine approaches Ben and her youngster is an edge of your seat experience...
Bugmann describes the animals and their bushy surroundings well... The dilemma of what to do with Ben’s discovery is well explored... There is a lovely twist in the story... Paula said she ‘kept wanting to find out what would happen next’ and she really enjoyed the funny parts ‘like when a possum piddles all over Ben’...
***

Tazzie Devil Double Trouble
Reviewer: Jerome Pape, Latrobe Primary School, Tas The book is a wealth of information for students wanting to learn more about the Tasmanian Devil and is written in a way that keeps students interested. The book is illustrated throughout with black and white illustrations. These add an extra dimension to the story and help students develop an idea of the characters. Here are some of [the students'] comments: 'I liked and enjoyed the story because it was interesting.'  'I liked the part where the devil went missing, the action came in.'  'I think it was interesting and with great pictures'  'I think it is great because it is action paced.'  Overall this was a good text to read to the students. It was informative, kept their interest and gave a positive message about protecting the environment.
***

Tazzie Devil Double Trouble
Review Quote by Bruce Von Stiers
Tazzie Tale
Sometimes there just aren't enough quality children's books out there. And especially ones in the US that feature children from other countries. I recently found a very pleasant exception. I read a book by an Australian writer who put forth a story of animals and intrigue. The title of the book is Tazzie Devil Double Trouble. The author of the book is Marlies Bugmann. The book was published by Zumaya Publications.
The book basically has two themes. One is the love and care of animals among friends. The other is the senseless exploitation and slaughter of animals like the Tasmanian Devil.
The book is a great way for children, and adults, to be made aware of the situation surrounding the slaughter of Tasmanian Devils. These creatures are far more than just a character in a Bugs Bunny cartoon.
2004 Bruce E Von Stiers
***

Kangaroo Dog
Review quote by Tasmania’s foremost Wildlife Specialist, Nick Mooney
I thought it a well written, clever and refreshing treatment of an old theme – the secret discovery of thylacines. I especially liked the constructive conspiracy twist – if only it was true. The drawings, especially of the young posturing, were very dasyurid-like and quite original. All in all, lots of fun.
***

Bluegum Christmas
Review quote by one of Tasmania’s most renown bird specialist, Raymond Brereton
A Bluegum Christmas is an enlightening children’s book. It is a fascinating story about two children growing up in the bush.The conservation message is intertwined with the story amidst the threat of logging of the habitat of the ‘Christmas bird’. The solution to this threat cleverly incorporates recent developments in the conservation of important patches of [rainforest].
******


BLUEGUM CHRISTMAS: A MIRACLE AT SASSAFRAS CREEK by Marlies Bugmann
Reviewer: Jennifer LB Leese, http://www.geocities.com/ladyjiraff
Publisher: Zumaya Publications.com (out of print, first edition)
Release: 2002
ISBN: 1-894869-85-0

Book number two in the Green Heart Series, Bugmann's book for children is a quick, satisfying read. Her book educates children in the importance of taking care of our ecosystem in a fiction plot using a little eight-year-old boy named Ben Arthurson and a little ten-year-old girl named Samantha Hogan. Together they learn the uniqueness of the rare and beautiful Christmas birds; save the bluegum trees from destruction, and learn to appreciate nature and their surroundings. Bugmann's book comes highly recommended by this reviewer and her children.

*******

Make a free website with Yola